LIZ HARROD

Ready to Leave and Ready to be Home.

In Uncategorized on December 16, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Since I’m changing places, it’s nearly the end of the year, and i have a new project (hopefully) launching on 1January, I think it is safe to say that there will be quite a few blogs from me over the coming weeks.

I have lots to share about this past year, but rather than spouting it all out at once, I’ll start with the matter at hand: my bags are packed; I’m spending the day doing last minute things; and in 24 hours I will be on my way home.

Leaving a place is usually hard for me. Leaving the people I’ve met there is typically even more difficult, but this time it’s different. There are lots of things telling me it’s time. For example, I’ve basically run out of all toiletries this week, and for the first time pretty much ever, my bags are actually packed more than eight hours before my flight. So, though I will be a little teary leaving France behind for now, the universe has done nothing but reassure that I’ve made the right decision. It is time for me to go.

I know it will take some adjusting when I get home. In fact, I was laughing with some friends yesterday evening about how odd it will be to speak English easily after being in Europe so much this year. It will feel strange to simply talk without adjusting my vocabulary so half of my audience can understand. It will also be strange to not speak French: to not say “Pardon” or “Salut” or ” Bisous”; to not have to think about new vocabulary or verb conjugations before going to the bank (which I have to do this morning). It’s always odd when I get back to America to see stores open all the time, and it’s nearly always a surprise when I order a large coke at the movie theatre and get a bucket of soda the size of my head.

I think the biggest adjustment, and the hardest thing to know, is that I won’t be moving around much this year. There may be opportunities with we.are.america(2012) to travel around the country a bit if it takes off the way I hope it will, and I am still holding out for a cross-country road trip and a trip to India and Southeast Asia sooner rather than later; but for the most part, things will be moving a lot slower than they have been this past year.

It will be a big adjustment, but I’m ready for that.

Right now, I’m excited about my choice to move home. Though it isn’t particularly exotic (it is, though, to the Croation girl I hung out with last night), I’m looking forward to a new kind of adventure, the kind in haven’t really had in quite some time.

Leave a Reply

