LIZ HARROD

Update from Porto

In Au Pair, Portugal on October 30, 2011 at 7:11 am

My goodness I’ve slacked in the blog writing department lately. Can’t promise this one will be much of a creative masterpiece, not that my other posts are, but it will certainly be an update since I’ve got the time while in Porto, on my way back to Paris.

First of all, luckily for me, though not bouncing around from place to place, living in Europe still offers the convenience of quick and cheap travel. I headed over to London at the beginning of October to celebrate my best friend, Kelsey’s, birthday. Loads of fun with her, her loving boyfriend and a bunch of other friends, the majority of who all lived in Paris last year.

This week, I had the fabulous opportunity to head back to Portugal to visit some beloved friends from my previous travel adventures. I volunteered on their farm back in March, and they’re now accepting yoga students for retreat. I had the privilege of studying with Vonny for the week: such an enjoyable and enlightening experience. Also, as typically goes with retreats, I had lots of time to reflect and write.

It’s been on my mind quite a bit lately, about whether I’m in the right place with this family in Paris, and what my heart really wants.

Paris is a beautiful city, but right now there are most certainly elements missing from my life. The good thing is that I’ve sort of honed in on the beginning steps of what it is that I need to round everything out here – things like time for yoga classes, time for writing, etc. What it comes to is my current work hours coupled with pay, not a lot of balance happening. So yes, there is a little discussion and decision making coming up. I’m optimistic mostly because I know it will all be fine whatever happens next, but there is a very real possibility that big unplanned changes are just around the corner.

As for what happens next, as you can see from my last two posts, I’m in full swing with future projects. Now that I’m on my way back to Paris from Portugal, I’m excited to dive into a bit of writing, that I (gasp) might get paid for. I’m also coaxing out my first ten submissions and starting to put together a more cohesive platform for my video project.

Lots going on and very much enjoying the feeling of dedication and passion that comes along with new projects.

We’ll just have to see where it all goes from here.

Leave a Reply

