LIZ HARROD

Tao’s Center-Paros, Greece

In Greece, Travel 2011 on July 15, 2011 at 2:18 am

I must admit, when I decided to spend a month on Paros, an island in Greece, participating in the work study program at Tao’s Center, a Buddhist center, I really had no idea what I was doing, or why I was doing it.

I made the decision in the comfort of the Winter family home while working Portugal. If you’ve read my blogs from my time there, you already know what an awakening experience it was for me. If you haven’t checked up on those entries, in a nutshell, I had the good fortune to spend two weeks n the comfort of a home and a family that pushed me to look at my own life and the world around me in new ways.

So it was there, on their front porch, that, after reading and evaluating the Tao’s website and tentatively emailing a few questions to the coordinator there, I gave into my intuition and accepted what I already knew was the right decision. Of course I should go.

Now I’m in Athens, after my time in Tao’s (16 June- 14 July), sitting in a hostel trying to push the hip hop music of the common room away from my mind, and trying to remember that the fact that the wireless connection isn’t working is not actually a big deal. Despite the distractions, I’m trying to clear my mind a bit to reflect and share parts of what I’ve experienced this past month.

Originally, when I first arrived, I was hung up on catching up with my blog and writing about my time at Tao’s as I experienced it. I quickly realized though, that time there something I wanted to immerse myself in entirely, something I wanted to process on my own before sharing here.

So, the next few entries are all reflecting back on the last month. Rather than going chronologically, I’m going to try and do this by themes, particularly in relation to some of the practices and exercises I took part in.

Two things to keep in mind through all of these writings:

1. Most of the posts here will be about spirituality. One quick clarification that I think is a common misconception, and, as I’ve seen, often causes a bit of discomfort: Buddhism is not a religion. Just something to keep in mind.

2. I, obviously, am not a spiritual teacher. I’m pretty new to most of this, and certainly new to the experience of consciously studying and practicing day in and day out. Everything I share here is my PERSONAL experience and perspective. It is not, in any way, a definitive reflection of Tao’s or the practices they teach. If something interests you, I urge you not to quote me or take my word for it. Please, explore it for yourself, if not at Tao’s somewhere else.

Leave a Reply

