LIZ HARROD

La Fête des Mères

In France, Travel 2011 on May 30, 2011 at 6:39 pm

The month of May is certainly a month of holidays in my family. We’ve got Mothers’ day, my dad’s birthday, my parents’ anniversary – which now also doubles as my sister and her fiancé’s engagement – and just to shake it up, since I’m in France, we also have La Fête de Mères, French Mothers’ Day.

So, to celebrate, in addition to wishing my own mother a bonne Fête de Mères, I was invited to join Stéphane and his family in Versailles to eat lunch with my family.

First of all, a big thank you to his brother, sister, mother and stepfather for being so welcoming to me.

His mother cooked a delicious lunch with a fruit and avocado salad, tuna, arugula, and fruit with fresh sorbet and chantilly for desert. Then, after a bit of a rest and little more conversation – in French and English – I got a bit of a treat.

Stéphane’s stepfather is a pilot and has a small propeller plane at the airfield nearby. So he took us up for a flight in the afternoon, showing me the areas surrounding Versailles; looking out over Paris, which actually looks quite small surrounded by all the fields; and even flying over Monet’s gardens in Giverny, which were sunny….. Had we landed I’m sure it would have started raining as soon as I arrived.

It really was a bit of a treat – such a beautiful afternoon, with such a sweet family who I hope to see again very soon.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have my camera with me, but Stéph’s mom lent us hers. So he was able to take a few pictures while we were up in the air.


Me up front with Christian.


Paris from the airplane. That’s the Eiffel Tower sticking up there just left of center.

  1. who allowed my sister to sit in the front seat that close to the controls! Love you sister, but I don’t know if I would allow you to fly the plane 🙂

Leave a Reply

