LIZ HARROD

Back to Life in Paris and Close to What May be Next

In France, Travel 2011 on May 24, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Oh Paris, how I missed you…. And only a couple weeks gone.

I must admit, I’m right at home here, enjoying a bit of an attempt at what normal life in Paris could be like. Sure there’s the language barrier, and sure I’m not paying any rent (thanks Stéph and Stéph’s flatmates!), but I’m not spending my time touring about. I’m trying to do things I would normally do.

So I started off with a movie – one of my favorite pastimes. Stéphane and I went to see Minuit á Paris, the new Woody Allen movie (in English with French subtitles). It was nice to go on a normal date rather than galavant around Seville or Sanremo or swanky nightclubs in the 19th Arrondisment, and the movie is so enjoyable – go see it.

Then I spent my Monday, enjoying the world of excel and building a few wedding planning spredsheets for my sister and her now fiancé (woohoo!). Oh yes, and I had a baguette sandwich in a park, enjoyed a bit of pastry and then headed off to register for a couple workshop sessions at Alliance Française – to brush up on my French.

I also made plans for a lunch date with my Kelsey and did a bit of unnecessary shopping – completely acceptable since I’m trying to get a feel for what it would be like to live here.

See, I’ve been toying with the idea of moving to Paris and being an au pair (for older kids of course) pretty much since Kelsey signed on to do it last year. I love the idea in theory, and revisiting Paris for the first time a couple weeks ago, really brought the idea forward in my mind. This time I’m looking forward to the next couple weeks as an opportunity to see what a normal life could be like in Paris. So we’ll see how we go. I’ve already started some things moving with one au pair agency. They’re just waiting for my 100% confirmation, and then things will really start moving.

Leave a Reply

