LIZ HARROD

Sanremo with Stéphane

In Italy, Photo, Travel 2011 on May 16, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Okay, where to start.

Stéphane got to Sanremo on Friday, thank goodness much more easily than I did, and I met him at the train station with a very big smile on my face.

We spent the afternoon, eating a delicious lunch of pasta with clams along with a tuna steak encrusted with sesame seeds and lightly grilled, at a place we probably wouldn’t have found if hadn’t been for the fact that Stéphane speaks Italian.

One day, I’m dragging him somewhere he doesn’t speak the language so that we will both be mute!

But anyway, after a bit of lunch, we grocery shopped and got ready to head up the hill on the bus to Baiardo.

Now, the road is very curvy, and I will admit, I was surprised I hadn’t seen anyone sick on it. Especially since in Morocco and Portugal, someone was always throwing up on the bus (gross). Well this time, there was someone sick…. And that poor sap was me.

For the record, I have never been car or bus sick in my entire life. Also for the record, in case you haven’t read my earlier post about Normandy, this makes the second weekend with Stéphane that I have spent an afternoon throwing up. I will forever be the girl who throws up all the time.

God bless him, he stopped the driver and was able to talk to him – by this point we were actually the only two left on the bus. But ugh, the motion sickness just wouldn’t go away.

We finally got off in Baiardo, and I had to sit for a good 20 minutes before attempting the hike up the hill. With Stéphane carrying everything- luggage, groceries and my purse, we finally made it to my house, where I promptly brushed my teeth, took a shower and went to sleep.

Luckily, as with Normandy, after a bit of a nap, I woke up refreshed and ready for dinner. Stéph made a delicious pasta dinner with olives and tuna and capers. Yum!

Needless to say, the next morning’s bus ride down to Sanremo was a little nerve wracking for everyone. But, I made it down alive, and we had a wonderful day.

We found a perfect little restaurant in a plaza with a fountain, and must have had gelato at least three times. Then we made the long walk up the hill to get a view of the city and the harbor – lots of big boats in the area due to the festival in Cannes and of course Monaco nearby. We ended up walking back down by the harbor where we could read and then drop by the grocery store before heading back up the hill for the night.

We made another yummy dinner, this time with some delicious prosciutto and really strong pecorino cheese to start with. Of course by we, I mean Stéphane. Trust me, there’s a reason he thinks about opening a restaurant one day. Yum indeed.

On Sunday, he had to head back to Paris. I botched the bus schedule, apparently it changes on Sunday…. But we were able to get a ride down with a lovely couple from Monaco – a very lucky coincidence.

I’ve made the decision to go back up to Paris this weekend until it is time to meet my parents in Italy.

I’ve realized I’m not done there yet. I want to spend more time with Stéphane. I want to see my lovely Kelsey and Justin, and I want a chance to be in Paris with no real tourism plans – to get an idea of what it may be like to live there.

I’ve started talking with an au pair agency who does placements in Paris starting in September this year. It’s staring to look like the perfect next adventure, but we’ll see.

For now it’s back to a very quiet Baiardo.

Oh, and it’s a happy birthday to my dad today!


Making in pose in one of the little alleys in old town.


Me in a very cool plaza covered in grafitti.


By the fountain next to our restaurant.

Leave a Reply

