LIZ HARROD

Soaking and Sharing a Little at a Time

In Portugal, Travel 2011 on March 28, 2011 at 12:00 am

There are things in this world that just aren’t meant to be shared. It doesn’t take a lot to figure out what they are. They’re those things that no matter how hard you try you simply can’t capture them in a picture or find the words to describe them.

Leaving Stones & Roses, tears in my eyes, my bus drove through the hills of central Portugal and under the most perfect rainbow . . . Perfect not only because of it’s impeccable timing but because I think it’s the first rainbow I’ve ever seen where I swear I could have walked from beginning to end if I wanted to. A rainbow: a promise of love and hope.

Over the past few days, my journey has had a bit of emotional turmoil – to be expected spending a year on my own. Most of it I haven’t really decided if I’m ready to share; to be honest, I’m not sure I could share, even if I tried. Feelings: another one of those indescribable things, difficult to capture with words.

But now, now I’m sitting in Lagos, on the beach, under a vast blue sky, stretching to where it meets the Mediterranean. An image that living in
Sydney made a comfort, another one of those vistas that pushes you to stretch out your arms and take a deep breath, hoping that maybe by making yourself big enough, you’ll be able to soak in just a little more, another one of those vistas that you just can’t capture in a picture.

  1. hi from The Owl Story Book Store in Lagos
    was a pleasure to meet you and we wish you god speed and clear horizons… keep in touch
    InI

Leave a Reply

