LIZ HARROD

A Quick Synopsis of What’s Going on Here

In Pre-departure, Travel 2011 on January 13, 2011 at 4:59 am

Well let’s see, I guess it all started back in high school.  For some reason, around the age of 14, I decided that I wanted to live abroad . . . anywhere abroad.  I even remember arguing with my high school boyfriend about the fact that I might want to live in Africa someday and the fact that he couldn’t even fathom it.

So I left high school and started my boundary pushing right away – baby steps though, from Louisville, Kentucky to Boston University.  My time at Boston took me even farther and sufficiently popped my comfort bubble with a semester in Niamey, Niger – a truly beautiful country despite recent events – followed by a semester in Sydney, Australia the place I’ve called home for the past two and a half years.

With my Bachelor’s Degree in hand I made the leap overseas on a semi-permanent basis and moved to Sydney with two of the most amazing women I know.  Our experiences together and the lessons we learned had to be the quickest path to semi-adulthood (I refuse to claim full adulthood).

And here I am now, nearly 25 years old, back in Kentuckiana after telling Sydney what I’m sure will be only a temporary goodbye, and counting down the days until I cross oceans once again, this time to the east.

I bought my one way ticket about a month ago, and that’s about as far as I’ve gotten in the planning.  In the interest of keeping everyone, including myself, sane, I’ve organized a little iPad file with embassy contacts (in case of emergency, my Dad’s suggestion), potential accommodation locations, and things I want to see in the places I may go.  For the most part though, and one of my goals in fact, I’m trying to set aside my typically very Type A personality and embrace the opportunity to let this year take me where it takes me.

Let me put it this way, as a friend of mine said when I first announced this little plan of mine.  I’m going to try not to “suck the spontaneity out of it.”

As for this – I’ve got a number of little projects I’ll be working on along the way, and this is one of them.  The most candid account I can possibly give of a 25 year old girl traveling solo – hopefully – around the world.

xx

  1. Temporary goodbye – damn straight!

Leave a Reply

